Monday, February 21, 2011

I'm scared for Wisconson Liberal Rant

Why is it the Unions fault? Was it Unions that caused this mess? No I believe it was massive banks and hedge funds that wrapped up shitty mortgages and sold them as triple A. Was it Unions that caused Enron and the rest to cheat their employees? Was it Unions that still made 6 billion after the oil spill? Remember when the Good old days were the 50’s and 60’s. That’s right America was union. When America was Kicking ass it was all done with Union Labor. We do not manufacture stuff here because of Unions you say? Well ask the companies who shipped those jobs to other countries how much their profits expanded? Business is there to make money no matter what product that they make. Unions are there to protect their workers and get as much as you can for them. Eight hour work days, Medical benefits, workers compensation vacation days and holidays all there because of unions. Do not think that business owners would have done any of that unless they had to. Oh wait go to China or Thailand or Mexico or any of the countries that are now manufacturing and see what they make. Remember in America people used to work in factories and be able to but the items they produced, thank you Unions and Henry Ford. Now business would rather build a factory in another country pay their workers a pittance (great word I know) and import it to America to increase their bottom line, Nafta did not raise the wage in Mexico but instead let business go there and increase their profits. We are not broke because of Unions, yeah it’s the Cops Teachers and Firemen, no it is all the MASSIVE lobbyists that manipulate bills and laws for their gain. Are you really against a tax on the top 2 percent of Americans? From 36- 39% REALLY??? We as a people need to wake up and start figuring out that for ourselves.

I know I sound like a liberal and that is bad, but remember, my Republican Friends the President who was labors friend as well as the people was Teddy Roosevelt, big supporter of the people. Author of the Square Deal, you know the idea of fair and square, not equal, but fair.

Is it unions, the people, or other interests? By the way did you know that in the governor’s bill there is a proposal for a no bid contract?

16.896 Sale or contractual operation of state−owned heating, cooling, and power plants. (1) Notwithstanding ss. 13.48 (14) (am) and 16.705 (1), the department may sell any state−owned heating, cooling, and power plant or may contract with a private entity for the operation of any such plant, with or without solicitation of bids, for any amount that the department determines to be in the best interest of the state. Notwithstanding ss. 196.49 and 196.80, no approval or certification of the public service commission is necessary for a public utility to purchase, or contract for the operation of, such a plant, and any such purchase is considered to be in the public interest and to comply with the criteria for certification of a project under s. 196.49 (3) (b).

Just so you know that Koch Industries is the Governors biggest donators with over 43,000 donated from their PAC. OH YEAH ONE MORE THING

The Koch-funded group Americans for Prosperity has also been standing with Walker throughout his budget battles, busing in Tea Party activists and launching the site, Stand With Walker. After the election, Walker and other Republican governors received guidance from the American Legislative Exchange Council, a group that is also funded by Koch dollars and has pushed anti-union measures

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Critique of the Week

Since Frenchie A.K.A. Rick was kind enough to give me the title of Social critic It has become my duty to Criticize everything that I deem unfit , or shit that I think Sucks or bothers me. Sometimes I also like stuff so I will applaud those that need to feel even better.



SO here is my Critique for the week.


Politics – Well another State of The Union came and went and my love of the government continued to leach out of me, I feel helpless knowing that I have no say and that for all of the sanctimonious Kvetching done by both sides that no one means any of it. Lobbyist control money flow and ideas in Washington and nobody even acknowledges it anymore. Until that changes then nothing will ever change.


So while that was going on it turns out that Clarence Thomas’s wife worked for Heritage Foundation a conservative policy group and also worked for a conservative think tank. Well big deal right, well he did not report her job status or income for at least the last 5 years. Maybe he didn’t know you say; well he knew to file it for the 13 years before. Does it change anything? No but it does seem like Thomas is devious and is a charlatan. We all know that he is a conservative and we know how he will rule but be on the ups man.


Sports – OK JETS LOST, But hey let’s get over it, two years in a row being good with two different types of teams, I feel good about Rex and the Jets and say; cool can’t wait till next year if there is one.


Hockey - I made a major trade in Fantasy Hockey giving up Crosby for a ton of players, he is hurt and a very miniscule part of me wants him to stay hurt for a while so I do not feel as bad for trading him. It’s All – Star week and I really like it more than the NBA. Will get to that eventually. The Rangers are still hanging in there and get back Callahan after the break. Would be great to get the 5 or 6 slot rather than the 7, 8 like so many of the past years. If Frenchy Deux wants me to start believing then I thinks a 5 or 6 would make me as a fan feel that the team I root for took a small step up.


I have seen 8 out of 10 best picture nominees and will make my picks soon. Winters Bone looks interesting. Will talk more movies later and music but first


Books – I am totally digging the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and am now reading Plays with Fire, am totally digging it too. Have Started the Keith Richard book Life so I will check in on that


TV – am totally bummed that Fringe moved to Fridays. No I am really not but I give me a chance to say I love this damn show and Walter is the Nuttiest Professor by far. I really like Southland as well it, on TNT Yeah but is pretty cool so give it a peep. Am totally done with Jersey Shore on the regular, am getting tired of it. Top Chef Rates and I am totally torn at night between Daily Show and Conan.